CharlestonAuto dealer license in South Carolina is about to be introduced. Charleston is a city in the U.S. state of South Carolina. It was the county seat of Charleston County in 1901, when the County of Charleston was founded. The city’s original name was Charles Towne in 1670, and moved to its present location (Oyster Point) from the position in the west bank of the Ashley River (Albemarle Point) in 1680. It adopted its present name in 1783. In 1690, Charleston was the fifth largest city in North America, and remained among the ten largest U.S. cities through the 1840 census. As defined by the U.S. Office of Management and Budget and U.S. Census Bureau used only for statistical purposes, including Charleston in Charleston – North Charleston – Summerville metropolitan area and the Charleston North Charleston metropolitan areas.

Charleston is known as the Holy City because of the prominent churches in low-rise cityscape, particularly the many towers that dot the rooftops of the city, and that was one of the few cities in the original colonies thirteen to give religious tolerance, but limited to non-Catholics

The population was counted by the U.S. Census in 2010 to 120,083, which is the second most populous city in South Carolina, near Columbia, the state capital. Current trends put Charleston as the fastest growing county in South Carolina. The city is one of the three major cities of a metropolitan statistical 659,191, the second largest in the state and the 76th largest metropolitan area statistics in the United States.