MadisonDealer license in Wisconsin would soon be introduce. Madison is the capital of the U.S. state of Wisconsin and the county seat of Dane County. It also houses the University of Wisconsin-Madison. From the 2010 census, Madison had a population of 233,209,  making it the second largest city in Wisconsin, after Milwaukee, and the largest 81 in the United States. The city is the heart of the United States Census Bureau Metropolitan Statistical Madison, which includes all of Dane County and neighboring counties of Iowa and Columbia. Madison Suburbs include DeForest, Fitchburg, Maple Bluff, McFarland, Middleton, Monona, Oregon, Shorewood Hills, Stoughton, Sun Prairie, Verona and Waunakee. The Madison Metropolitan Statistical Area had an estimated population of 561,505 in 2008.